LEVEE Learn
Interactive tools that explain how flooding works
Public
Reaches every council area128 of 128
- Interactive tools live
- —
- Cost to use
- Free
- Moving onto the platform
- Next
Research
mapping access to flood information across NSW
Perennial
Portal catalogue enumerated 22 August 2026
Last updated 22 August 2026
Councils across New South Wales hold thousands of flood studies and terabytes of model output. The modelling has been done, paid for and adopted. Most home owners still cannot tell you whether their house sits in a 1% AEP zone, or what that would mean for them. The difficulty is access, not modelling. The information exists and is already paid for using taxpayer dollars: it simply cannot be easily located, compared or relied on in the patchwork that exists today.
Throughout this report, open and usable means a dataset that carries an open licence and holds an actual spatial data file. A report PDF published under an open licence is counted as open, but not usable: a map cannot draw a page. Every figure below is counted against that definition.
Please read this first
This is preliminary investigation and research is ongoing. This data is published to simply start a conversation. Note the portal figures are a complete count of the current database, rather than a sample, but the information represents a first pass, with further review and analysis underway.
This is part of a broader research project, and the findings here are subject to consultation with all industry stakeholders: councils, consultants, insurers and the state agencies. If you are able to provide any insight or clarification with regard to the figures reported below, please contact Perennial.
Initial estimates for consultation only, subject to research and verification. Portal figures counted 22 August 2026
Flood risk is a development constraint like bushfire: zones from low to high, numbers, and measures that follow from them.
Every council chooses its own colours, its own catchment names and its own platform, and none of them agree. A resident who moves thirty kilometres meets a different colour language for the same risk, and flood information is often buried deep in a council website under a catchment name the public has never heard of. Hosting of maps on council specific platforms, and inconsistency in how layers are shown, is part of the ongoing confusion.
One council
High risk
Medium risk
Low risk
A neighbouring council
High risk
Medium risk
Low risk
LEVEE, statewide
Frequent
Uncommon
Benchmark
Rare
Maximum
The same three categories of risk, drawn by two neighbouring councils, can share no colour at all. Neither palette is wrong: there is no convention for councils to follow, and the point is the absence of one, not the choices any council made. LEVEE draws one ramp for every council area, one hue, darker for floods that happen more often, validated for colour vision deficiency.
Across four events and more than 300,000 claims. February to March 2022 alone cost $3.35bn, the costliest flood in Australian history.
More than half the national total of 229,455.
On currency grounds alone: ARR 2019 and the gazetted 2023 Flood Risk Management Manual superseded what they were written against.
170 of 4,417 datasets on the portal are both spatial data and openly licensed.
Premiums have separated from the average. Average annual home insurance, October 2025: outer western Sydney and the Blue Mountains $5,350, against a national average of $2,938.
148,546 NSW properties are projected to be uninsurable by 2030. Riverine flooding drives about 80% of the national high-risk total.
In March 2021 about 65,000 people across Greater Sydney were under evacuation warnings and orders, the majority in the Hawkesbury-Nepean valley. The NSW Floodplain Management Program funded 53 projects totalling $10.4 million in 2024-25, against that exposure.
An owner wanting to know about their own land is asking a narrow question: how deep, how often, and what it means for what they intend to build. Three things get in the way, and only one of them is cost.
Every NSW flood dataset on the state portal, counted. A study being published is commonly taken to mean the information is available. In practice four things sit between a study appearing on the portal and a map being able to draw it.
Licence categories and how current the catalogue is, by dataset. A third-party licence means the consultant or council retained rights: readable on the portal, not republishable.
| Licence | Datasets | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Third-party licence | 2,261 | 51.2% |
| Not specified | 1,285 | 29.1% |
| CC BY 4.0 | 688 | 15.6% |
| Other named licence | 97 | 2.2% |
| OEH licence | 79 | 1.8% |
| Internal only | 7 | 0.2% |
A dataset with no stated licence (1,285 datasets, 29.1%) is treated as not republishable until its custodian confirms otherwise, and every figure on this page counts it with the restricted material.
The model output is the part a map can use, and it is the part least often released. Of the 1,676 datasets holding real spatial data, six in seven are locked. Open licensing is rarest where the data is most valuable.
| Licence, on data only | Datasets | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Third-party licence | 1,424 | 85% |
| CC BY 4.0 | 170 | 10.1% |
| Other named licence | 46 | 2.7% |
| OEH licence | 29 | 1.7% |
| Internal only | 7 | 0.4% |
The 688 openly licensed datasets, by what they contain: 518 are a document (75.3%) and 170 are a data file (24.7%). Three quarters of the open material is a PDF of a study report. It can be mapped, but only by digitising the figure plates by hand, which is slow, approximate, and has to be redone every time the study is revised.
Across the portal, after excluding report and figure archives: 83 datasets held by 23 councils. That is the whole of the portal’s flood information that can be lawfully reproduced without digitising a page. Flood data held outside the portal is not counted here, so this measures the portal, not the state.
Age against the two thresholds the sector turns on: Australian Rainfall and Runoff 2019, and the gazetted 2023 NSW Flood Risk Management Manual. A study written against superseded guidance is not wrong, it was written to a different standard. Counted on the publication date the portal states, across the 4,417 datasets that carry one.
| Published | Datasets | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Published before ARR 2019 | 3,394 | 76.8% |
| Between ARR 2019 and the 2023 Manual | 506 | 11.5% |
| From the 2023 Manual onwards | 517 | 11.7% |
Alongside its age, whether each record is the current answer for its catchment. The portal states this itself, in each dataset’s own status field, and it is reported here exactly as given. Where the field carries no meaningful value the record is counted as not stated: a status is never inferred from a title, because a study titled Final has been the superseded one before.
| Status, as the catalogue states it | Datasets | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Marked completed (the current answer) | 4,108 | 93% |
| Marked superseded, partially superseded, deprecated or retired | 189 | 4.3% |
| Marked draft | 8 | 0.2% |
| Status not stated in the catalogue | 112 | 2.5% |
Counting datasets says nothing about whether the particular thing a practitioner needs exists. These count datasets whose own description names the product, then narrow to the openly licensed ones, then to the ones that also hold a data file.
| Product | Described | Openly licensed | Open and holds data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flow velocityHow fast the water moves. Half of what a hazard classification is derived from, and what tells a reader whether a flooded street can be walked out of | 271 | 54 | 8 |
| Hazard classification H1 to H6The AR&R 2019 grading of how dangerous the water is to a person, a vehicle and a building | 42 | 7 | 1 |
| Flood functionFloodway, flood storage and flood fringe. What the development controls actually turn on | 235 | 37 | 9 |
Velocity is the clearest case. 271 datasets on the portal describe holding it, 54 are openly licensed, and 8 both carry an open licence and hold a data file. For the AR&R hazard classification the figure is 1: not per cent and not per council, but one dataset on the whole portal. Every other hazard classification published there is either behind a licence that forbids republication or exists only as a figure in a report.
These are claims made by the publisher in the dataset description, not verified contents. An archive described as holding velocity has not been opened to confirm it, and a package that holds velocity without saying so is not counted.
The distinction that explains most of this page: a right of access is not a right of reuse. The Government Information (Public Access) Act gives anyone the right to obtain information a NSW council holds, flood studies included. It grants no right to republish what is obtained. A study can therefore be public in the sense that any person can read it, and locked in the sense that no one may lawfully put it on a map for the next person.
That is why the licence column above matters more than the published column. LEVEE republishes mapping, so it can only carry material whose licence permits republication, which today means CC BY. A restricted study is recorded, counted, and left where it is, however openly it can be read in place.
While almost every council publishes its flood study information publicly, fewer than half provide it for free and open reproduction by engineers.
Of 128 local government areas
Of 33 local government areas
895 Greater Sydney datasets, 193 of them CC BY, 42 with a data file.
Councils are counted, not listed. This research does not rank councils and will not publish a list of the ones publishing least. The constraint is the licence attached to each study, and a council is often bound by terms an earlier consultancy contract set years before anyone asked the question.
Datasets and councils measure the supply side. Weighting the same council count by population asks the question from the resident’s side: whose council holds openly reusable flood data on the portal, and whose does not.
Joining the council list above to the Australian Bureau of Statistics estimated resident population at 30 June 2024: 5,690,100 people, 67.1% of New South Wales, live in a local government area with no openly reusable spatial flood data on the state portal. 23 of the 129 ABS local government areas have a council holding at least one openly reusable dataset there.
Descriptive, not a ranking: no area is named, in either direction. Because an archive whose contents the catalogue does not state is counted as reusable, the covered side is an upper bound and this figure is a floor. It measures the portal, not what a council may hold elsewhere. Population is the ABS Regional population release for 2023-24, CC BY 4.0, joined by local government area.
Every council catchment the platform considers is asked the same five questions, and the answers become a public record rather than an internal note:
The output is a council-by-council audit of NSW flood data accessibility, format and currency, published as a findings report and as the operating platform itself. Gaps in map coverage directly demonstrate gaps in accessibility, data or cooperation, and the intent is that the findings inform policy improvement at a state level, not just a new mapping system.
Every study is catalogued, including where licensing prevents display. LEVEE records that the study exists and links to the source, so gaps in visual coverage speak for themselves.
The naming rule is fixed: name the good, aggregate the rest. Councils performing well may be named positively. Councils that are not appear only in aggregate figures. No league table, no ranking, descriptive language only. Once a council participates, naming becomes a reward rather than a penalty, which is the right incentive and keeps the research collaborative rather than adversarial.
Openly licensed spatial datasets, after report archives are excluded. Between them these publishers hold most of the state’s total, and every one of them decided to license openly when nothing obliged them to.
| Council or agency | Reusable data | CC BY total |
|---|---|---|
| Wollongong City Council | 27 | 61 |
| Penrith City Council | 13 | 21 |
| Shellharbour City Council | 8 | 15 |
| Hawkesbury City Council | 6 | 10 |
| Coffs Harbour City Council | 4 | 13 |
| Central Coast Council | 3 | 43 |
| Sutherland Shire Council | 1 | 8 |
| Newcastle City Council | 1 | 4 |
Wollondilly Shire Council also publish openly, as reports rather than as data files.
This list grows as councils license data openly, and it is the only list on this page. If your council publishes openly and is not named here, that is an error worth telling us about.
Share of each year’s published material carrying an open licence. Counted by publication year rather than by the date a record was loaded onto the portal, so the bulk historical load spreads back across the years it belongs to instead of showing as two meaningless spikes.
| Year | Published | Open | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 311 | 48 | 15.4% |
| 2016 | 307 | 45 | 14.7% |
| 2017 | 313 | 39 | 12.5% |
| 2018 | 170 | 13 | 7.6% |
| 2019 | 209 | 35 | 16.7% |
| 2020 | 120 | 30 | 25% |
| 2021 | 107 | 33 | 30.8% |
| 2022 | 70 | 22 | 31.4% |
| 2023 | 99 | 45 | 45.5% |
| 2024 | 166 | 49 | 29.5% |
| 2025 | 144 | 48 | 33.3% |
| 2026 | 108 | 31 | 28.7% |
Open licensing has sat between a fifth and a third of new material for six years running, with one better year. On the current trend the gap does not close on its own.
Licence and portal figures are counted from the complete NSW Flood Data Portal catalogue via its CKAN API on 22 August 2026: 4,417 dataset records with licences and file listings, not a sample. Market, cost, currency and fee figures are drawn from The State of Flood Risk Management in Greater Sydney (Perennial, current at 31 May 2026), which sources them to the Insurance Council of Australia, the Climate Council, NSW Government grant records and council fees schedules. Population figures are the Australian Bureau of Statistics Regional population release for 2023-24, estimated resident population at 30 June 2024 by local government area, CC BY 4.0.
Every portal figure on this page is read from a locked snapshot of the catalogue taken on 22 August 2026, kept as a dated file in the project repository rather than queried live, so the figures are reproducible and do not move underneath the text. A fresh audit becomes a new dated snapshot alongside this one, never a replacement of it; when the page moves to a newer snapshot it will say so here and keep the earlier file available for comparison.
Study counts carry the underlying report’s own caveat. There is no authoritative register of adopted flood studies in NSW, and the portal’s custodians state plainly that it is not a complete catalogue, so the 250 to 400 range and the 60 to 80% currency estimate are best-available rather than audited. The absence of that register is part of the finding.
A dataset counts as holding data where a declared file format is a mapping format or an archive, because the catalogue does not list what is inside an archive. That overstates rather than understates availability, which is the safer direction for a finding of scarcity. Openly reusable is the narrower figure, with archives whose titles say they hold reports or figures removed. Nothing is excluded from any count and no year is dropped from the trend.
The counted figures are published as files, free to read with no key and no authentication, so anyone can check them or build on them: coverage-stats.json, coverage-datasheet.md and index.json.
Initial estimates for consultation only, subject to research and verification. Last updated 22 August 2026. Corrections to levee@perennialengineers.com.au.
Published by Perennial Consulting Engineers. LEVEE publishes CC BY material only. The map is at LEVEE Map and every dataset it publishes is credited on data sources.
LEVEE is built in four parts. Each carries its status as a heading, and each cup fills to a counted measure: how many of the 128 council areas in New South Wales that part covers today. The count is printed under the cup, so the water level is a fact somebody can check, not a percentage of an unfinished thing.
Interactive tools that explain how flooding works
Public
Reaches every council area128 of 128
Council flood mapping for New South Wales, consolidated on one map
Prototype
Council areas with open studies live7 of 128
Low-lying land that LEVEE estimates is susceptible to flooding, read from landform
In build
Council areas in development2 of 128
A directory of consultants holding site specific studies commissioned by landowners
Concept
Council areas served—
Figures are counted from the published map manifest and the licence register on the date shown, and are republished as they change. A layer only appears on the map, and only counts here, once its source licence is recorded and permits publication. Nothing on this platform replaces a section 10.7 planning certificate.
Figures counted on 8 September 2026.
Counted from the published map on 8 September 2026. This is the part of the state’s flood information that is both openly licensed and actually on a map, against the audit on the other tab.
Figures are counted from the published map manifest and the licence register on the date shown, and are republished as they change. A layer only appears on the map, and only counts here, once its source licence is recorded and permits publication. Nothing on this platform replaces a section 10.7 planning certificate.